You are here

Flight Path: A Search for Roots Beneath the World's Busiest Airport (Paperback)

Flight Path: A Search for Roots Beneath the World's Busiest Airport Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In the months leading up to the birth of her first child, Hannah Palmer discovers that all three of her childhood houses have been wiped out by the expansion of Atlanta's Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. Having uprooted herself from a promising career in publishing in her adopted Brooklyn), Palmer embarks on a quest to determine the fate of her lost homesand of a community that has been erased by unchecked Southern progress. Lyrically chronicling the overlooked devastation and beauty along the airport's fringe communities in the tradition of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Leslie Jamison, Palmer unearths the startling narratives about race, power, and place that continue to shape American cities. Part memoir, part urban history, Flight Path: A Search for Roots beneath the World's Busiest Airport is a riveting account of one young mother's attempt at making a home where there's little home left.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781938235283
ISBN-10: 1938235282
Publisher: Hub City Press
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Language: English